Life Is Like A Dumpling

Procrastination cookies.

After handing in a 5000 word essay on Monday, I decided that it was completely reasonable for me to bum out and be lazy before starting my next (also 5000 word…) essay. A night evolved into a day, and a day evolved into two days. The product of my procrastination has been one pecan pie, one pumpkin pie, home-baked beans, and a batch of chocolate chip cookies.

I’ll blog all of these recipes in due time, but for now, my procrastination cookies.

procrastination cookies:
3/4 cup unsalted butter
2/3 cup light brown sugar
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg, or 2 small-medium eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
a pinch of salt
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 3/4 cups wholewheat flour
1 1/2 to 2 cups chocolate chunks

Preheat your oven to 175 degree celsius. Melt your butter until soft- unfortunately for me, this meant overheating my butter in the microwave and creating a mini butter bomb. Make sure you keep your eye on it…

Mix the sugar into the butter, and stir until smooth. Slowly beat in the egg, vanilla, salt, and baking soda. Incorporate the flour into the batter slowly, and add in your chocolate chips. While most people use semi-sweet chocolate chips or milk chocolate in chocolate chip cookies, I prefer dark chocolate.

Space your cookies out on the baking tray and bake for approximately 10-15 minutes. I love chewy cookies, so I take them out before they get a little too crispy for my liking.

Let them cool, and dip into a glass of milk. (Or almond milk, yum!)

Image

recipe from here

This entry was published on October 24, 2012 at 2:02 pm. It’s filed under Desserts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Procrastination cookies.

  1. These cookies were so delicious!

  2. ericascime on said:

    Haha procrastination cookies. I like that! I definitely bake when I procrastinate but for me its usually procrastination banana bread. Not sure why! Either way, these look so good and I’m tempted to make them with the bag of dark chocolate chips I have up in my cupboard.

Leave a Reply

