Life Is Like A Dumpling

A cleansing soup + going gluten-free (?)

Two nights ago, my boyfriend (Have I introduced him on my blog yet? I’m not sure. I don’t think so. His name is Lewis.) announced that he was going gluten-free. Imagine my shock- the first thought that came to my head was, “Who will eat my cookies now?! Pizza? What about pizza?” I am and will, of course, be 110% supportive of his decision to go gluten-free, and am deciding myself whether I should go gluten-free to make it easier for the both of us. Ah, but the cookies… I’m not sure if I can give up the cookies, or french toast.

In the meantime, here is a recipe for a healthy, cleansing soup! (Which is, coincidentally, gluten-free.)

A cleansing veggie soup
1 large leek, sliced and then cut into small pieces
4 cloves of garlic, minced
4 carrots, chopped into small chunks
4 celery stalks, chopped into small chunks
3 small turnips, diced
3 small zucchinis, diced
8 cups water
3 medium-large tomatoes
3 medium potatoes
a big bunch of spinach
juice of half a lemon
sea salt and pepper
a dollop of pesto
parmesan cheese
3 tablespoons olive oil

Heat the olive oil in a large pot over medium heat. Add the leeks and garlic, and stir to coat them in oil, around 10 minutes. Add the carrots, celery, and turnips, cook for 5 minutes. Add the water, tomatoes, and potatoes. Bring the soup to a simmer, and toss in the spinach and zucchini. Let it stew for 20+ minutes for the flavours to come out- salt and pepper, and pour in the lemon juice. For non-vegans, add a generous dollop of pesto and sprinkle with parmesan cheese. Enjoy! 🙂

The original recipe didn’t call for pesto, but I found the soup quite simple (but still delicious!) and thought the pesto added a nice touch. I make my own pesto- with walnuts, spinach and arugula, which I’ll share another time!

Inspired by Chez Us’s Healthy Detox Soup

This entry was published on January 30, 2013 at 3:29 pm. It’s filed under Dairy-free, Dinner, Gluten-free, Lunch, Soups, Sugar-free, vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

