Life Is Like A Dumpling

Melt-in-your-mouth chocolate cake

Last night I made the best chocolate cake I have ever made in my life. I’m going to call it melt-in-your-mouth chocolate cake, because that’s what it is. The best part of this cake is that it’s so good despite being dairy-free AND gluten-free. The only way this cake could have been better is if there was some fresh whipped cream or ice cream to go with it. I have official confirmation from Lewis and my friend Rachel that this is probably the best cake I have ever made- so, I am praising this cake with confidence, and I hope that everyone who is reading this will, at some point in their life, make this cake 🙂

Image
Melt-in-your-mouth chocolate cake
1/2 cup coconut oil
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 1/2 cups dark chocolate (I used 85%)
6 eggs
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup (strong) coffee
1 tablespoon vanilla
3/4 cup cocoa powder
1 teaspoon salt

Chocolate-coconut ganache
2 cups dark chocolate
3/4 cup coconut milk

Preheat your oven to 175 degrees celsius. Grease an 8 inch cake tin (you’ll need several if you want layers! For an even bigger cake, double the recipe).

Microwave the coconut oil in a medium glass bowl until slightly melted. Add the chocolate, and melt on the stove top (I prefer the double-broiler method). Once relatively melted, add the vegetable oil. Stir constantly to prevent clumps of chocolate from forming. In the bowl of your electric mixer, beat the eggs and sugar until pale. Add the coffee and vanilla extract. Sift in the cocoa powder and salt, and mix. Once the chocolate and oils are completely melted, pour into the batter and mix well.

Bake until a toothpick comes out clean, around 25-30 minutes.

While the cake is cooling, prepare the ganache. Once again, I use the double-broiler method. Heat the coconut milk before adding the chocolate. Stir until melted. Coat the cake with the ganache, and enjoy! 🙂

Recipe from Yammie’s Glutenfreedom

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Image

This entry was published on February 2, 2013 at 3:38 pm. It’s filed under Dairy-free, Desserts, Gluten-free, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Melt-in-your-mouth chocolate cake

  1. Oh my gosh! I have to try this!!

Leave a Reply

