Life Is Like A Dumpling

Okonomiyaki

Let me begin by saying: I am really bad at working under stressful conditions. I panic, I freak out, and do strange yoga poses to calm myself- only after eating my weight in cookies, of course. But then… I finish the task at hand, and magically, having been reminded how much I love the feeling of getting something done, I feel great! I’m convinced that I work better under pressure, when there’s just too much for me to handle. And even though I absolutely despise it while I’m doing whatever I need to be doing, pushing through, getting it done, and crossing it off my to-do list is one of the most satisfying feelings. I never understood my need to overextend myself, until I read Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project. People are generally happier when they feel like they’ve invested time into something they consider worthwhile, and when they’re done, they feel productive and satisfied. They’re also happier when they take breaks to do the things they love, invest in themselves, and start the day with a positive mindset: ‘Today is a good day. I’m going to have a good day.’  I just handed in an essay yesterday, and this is how I feel right now. Last night I had a post-essay celebration by making gluten-free pizza and watching Silver Linings Playbook 🙂

ANYWAY. I’ll share some of my ‘happiness project’ another time, but I’m not going to spend the rest of my blog post preaching to you about happiness, although these pancakes are preeeeetty good at brightening my day.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Okonomayaki
5 large eggs
1 teaspoon soy sauce
1 teaspoon sesame oil
1 teaspoon sea salt
1/3 cup flour (I used gluten-free)
2 cups cabbage, shredded
1 bunch scallions, chopped
vegetable oil for frying
sesame seeds

Sauce
1/2 cup mayonnaise (for dairy-free use veganaise)
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 teaspoons sriracha, less if you don’t like spice

In a large bowl, whisk the eggs. Add the soy sauce, sesame oil, and salt. Add the flour gradually to avoid clumping, and whisk until incorporated. Add in the cabbage and scallions.

Coat a large frying pan with vegetable oil over medium-high heat. Once the oil is heated and glistening, spoon some batter into the skillet. You can either make several small ones, or fewer big ones. Cook until the bottoms are golden brown, about 3 minutes. While the pancakes are cooking, mix the sauce. Once done, dip pancakes in sauce and sprinkle with sesame seeds.

Makes around 10 pancakes, depending on size.

Enjoy 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Inspired by Food 52

This entry was published on February 26, 2013 at 9:17 pm. It’s filed under Breakfast, Dairy-free, Dinner, Gluten-free, Lunch, Sugar-free, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Okonomiyaki

  1. Oh wow I’ve had okonomiyaki before but didn’t realise I could make it myself! Will definitely be trying this soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

