Life Is Like A Dumpling

Sweet potato, goat cheese, and kale pizza

Sometimes I wish I was more of a social butterfly- especially on weekends. But when my busy week is finally over, all I want to do is curl up in bed with a cup of tea, a good book, and maybe an episode of Anthony Bourdain’s “No Reservations.”

My week is usually crammed with class, meetings, and the attempt to finish what seems like a never-ending reading list. I love to sleep and wake early, but lately, my efforts to hit the sheets at a reasonable have been thwarted by my busy schedule. Getting myself out of bed requires three alarms: one at 6:30am, another at 6:45, and the last one at 7am. Needless to say, I feel as if I’ve been trapped in a perpetual cycle of sleep deprivation and exhaustion. I can just feel my conscience yelling at me to take a break and give myself some “me time.”

So, this is me on a Saturday night: blogging about gluten-free pizza in my pyjamas from the comfort of my bed, when I should really be working on my presentation for Monday.

Warning: this recipe is extremely time consuming, but so worth it! This pizza is also super-healthy, and is essentially a super-food pizza. Sweet-potatoes are high in vitamin a, b6, c, e; kale is filled with antioxidants, vitamin k, calcium, and iron. The best part? It’s low-calorie and full of fibre!

Image

Sweet potato, goat cheese, and kale pizza
Part 1: The Crust
2 cups cauliflower, food processed
1 cup mozzarella cheese, grated
1 egg, beaten
3 garlic cloves, food processed or minced
1 teaspoon oregano

Preheat the oven to 205 degrees celsius. Food process the cauliflower, and spread the cauliflower on a greased baking tray. Bake for 15-20 minutes, until it starts to turn golden-brown.

While the cauliflower is baking, grate the mozzarella. Beat the egg in a bowl, and add the mozzarella, garlic, oregano, and the cauliflower. Mix well. Spread the mixture onto the baking tray, and bake for 25 minutes.

Part 2: The Toppings
1 medium sweet potato
2 cups kale, chopped
1 cob of corn
2 tablespoons goat cheese, sliced or crumbled
3 garlic cloves, food processed or minced
olive oil
sea salt

Bake the sweet potato for an hour at 200 degrees celsius. I suggest doing this ahead of time, or doing it while the cauliflower is first baking. In a saucepan with olive oil, sautée the kale and some of the garlic until soft and fragrant, around 10 minutes on medium heat. Set aside.

Remove the sweet potato skins, and mix the rest of the garlic with the sweet potatoes. Salt slightly. Once the pizza crust is done, spread the sweet potato mash. Shave the corn off the cob. Add the kale, sprinkle the corn, and top with goat cheese.

Bake at 175 degrees celsius for 15 minutes.

Inspired by Pure and Simple

This entry was published on March 2, 2013 at 10:15 pm. It’s filed under Dinner, Gluten-free, Lunch, Sugar-free, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

