Life Is Like A Dumpling

Coconut milk brownies + spring break

Spring break is finally here! I’m trying to ignore the fact that I have two essays due when I’m back from break, because my break is lined up with so many exciting things. I’m off to London tomorrow for two days with my friend and fellow Greenpeace St Andrews coordinator Margaret for Greenpeace’s induction day for their network coordinators in the London office. On Saturday, I fly to Vienna to reunite with two of my friends from high school who I haven’t seen since high school graduation. (!!!) On Wednesday I’m back in Scotland for a day and fly to Miami on Thursday with Lewis for his lovely mum’s birthday, where we’ll happily be her kitchen slaves while enjoying the sunshine. And the grand finale to my break: exploring New York City’s nooks and crannies with Lewis! Even though I visited this past summer, I am ridiculously in love with the city, and so excited to pay another visit to all my favourite spots: the High Line, Birdbath Bakery, the Chobani yoghurt bar, the MET, MoMA, Eataly… and so many more! Since I won’t be cooking as much over break, I’ll be blogging more about my food and travel adventures while I’m away. My last kitchen hurrah before break: coconut milk brownies with a coconut milk ganache! These are wonderfully melty and divine, you just can’t go wrong with coconut milk.
(Note: the recipe originally calls for 2 cups of sugar, but I ran out of sugar so I substituted with brown sugar and honey.)

Image

Coconut milk brownies
makes approx. 18 brownies
1/2 cup soy butter
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
3 tablespoons honey
2 cups 75% dark chocolate, chopped
1 cup coconut milk
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/4 cups cocoa powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 1/2 cups spelt flour, or flour of your choice (gluten-free: replace with gf flour)

Preheat the oven to 175 degrees celsius. In a small saucepan, melt the butter over low heat. Once completely melted, add the sugar. Continue to stir constantly over low heat to prevent clumps from forming. Add the chocolate, and stir until melted.

In a mixer, blend the chocolate mixture with the coconut milk, eggs, and vanilla extract. Sift in the flour, cocoa powder, salt, and baking powder. Pour the mixture into a greased baking tin and bake for 30-45 minutes. Once finished, cut the brownie into slices and let them cool.

Coconut milk ganache
1/2 cup coconut milk
125g of dark chocolate

Heat the coconut milk on medium heat. Once warm, add the dark chocolate and stir until melted. Increase the amount of chocolate if you prefer a thicker consistency. Pour over the brownies. If you’re feeling decadent, top with peanut butter!

ImageImage
Adapted from Princess in the Kitchen

This entry was published on March 14, 2013 at 12:46 pm. It’s filed under Dairy-free, Desserts, Gluten-free, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Coconut milk brownies + spring break

  1. maria on said:

    absolutely diviiine

  2. Amanda on said:

    These sound and look incredible!

  3. herbivorousgeek on said:

    Yummy!!!! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Homemade mint chocolate chip ice cream cake + a day in Edinburgh | life is like a dumpling

Leave a Reply

