Life Is Like A Dumpling

Raw vegan, gluten-free chocolate peanut butter balls

A few months ago, my flatmate Anna told me that she was determined to cut sugar out of her diet because it made her gain weight. This was a decision that came after she happily gobbled up some of my baked goods, which are apparently quite irresistible when left on the kitchen counter. With a gluten-free boyfriend, a sugar-free flatmate, and a dairy-free me (attempting to, at least!), I’ve been more determined than ever to create tasty and healthy treats that all of us can enjoy. What I’ve found from experimenting with raw vegan recipes is that, usually, whatever you’re making is delicious and super easy to make. Last night I made a batch of raw vegan, gluten-free, sugar-free chocolate peanut butter balls at 11pm, and it only took me around 20 minutes. They’re the perfect study snack: quick and easy to make, super healthy, and full of protein!

Image

Raw vegan, gluten-free chocolate peanut butter balls
1/2 cup dried dates, pitted and softened
1 cup roasted peanuts
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon water
(I didn’t use any sweetener, but if I could make it again I would suggest adding honey, or if you’re vegan, adding maple syrup or agave nectar to taste. I might have slightly over-salted mine by accident…)

In a bowl, soak the dried dates with warm water for 10-15 minutes.

While they are soaking, roast the peanuts on a pan with no oil. Once they’re toasted, remove from the pan and let them cool in a separate bowl.

Remove the dates from the water and place them in the food processor with the rest of the ingredients. The tablespoon of water I used to make the balls was the water I used to soften the dates, which had some of the date’s flavour in it.

Food process the ingredients until smooth. Add more water if necessary. Once processed, remove the mixture and roll into little balls.

Image

Image

Recipe adapted from Elena’s Pantry

This entry was published on April 13, 2013 at 12:55 pm. It’s filed under Breakfast, Brunch, Dairy-free, Desserts, Gluten-free, Sugar-free, vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Raw vegan, gluten-free chocolate peanut butter balls

Leave a Reply

