Life Is Like A Dumpling

Peanut Soup

This is the fourth time I’ve tried to post this recipe for peanut soup, but WordPress seems to be gobbling up all of them as I try to post them!

——-

I’m having post-workout struggles. Yesterday morning my boyfriend decided it would be a good idea to take me lifting. For those of you who know me personally: can you imagine me lifting something? Big weights? Anything? No, I didn’t think so. As far as weights go, I only carry the little baby ones that weigh 5lbs, 10lbs, or 15lbs at most with my squats, lunges, and other fun things. Needless to say, I’m now having trouble sitting straight and walking. Even sitting is becoming arduous for my gluteus maximus! Ah, I think I’m quite happy to remain a cardio bunny.

I am also having foodgawker struggles. I’ve probably submitted a countless number of food photos, but unfortunately all of them have been rejected with the exception of one: pizza with falafel as the base, which I made a long time ago. I always submit my photos with optimism and a bit of hope, and keep my fingers crossed when I check on the following day to see if they’ve been accepted. Sure, I feel a little dejected when I realize they’ve turned down my photos- but it’s okay, nothing bad can come from brushing up on my food photography skills. If any of you have ever successfully submitted photos to foodgawker before, I’m sending you a big high 5 and all of my praise. Hopefully I’ll be able to join your ranks in the near future 🙂

On another note, I’ve also decided to add a new feature to my blog posts: music! Not music that plays when you’re on my blog, but including a link to a song that I’m grooving to or feel like sharing with each blog post. I think it’ll be fun! Today’s song is a fun one: Good Time by Brazilian Girls. I hope everyone has as much fun head-bobbing and dancing to it as much as I do!

Today I’ll be sharing a recipe for peanut soup, which I was planning on posting yesterday. I know some of you might be raising your eyebrows at the idea of peanut soup, but I wholeheartedly assure you that this soup is nothing less than delicious and you won’t regret trying it! It’s so warm and comforting- did I mention that it’s also vegan and gluten-free? Yum!

IMG_7439

Peanut Soup
1 tablespoon coconut oil
1 medium red onion, chopped
1 medium sweet potato, diced into cubes
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon fresh ginger, peeled and minced
1 tablespoon tomato paste
1 15 ounce can crushed tomatoes
4 cups vegetable broth
1 cup natural, sugar-free and crunchy peanut butter
salt and pepper to taste
sriracha
chopped peanuts for garnishing

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In a soup pot, heat the coconut on medium heat. Cook the onions and sweet potatoes until the onions are soft, and the sweet potatoes begin to brown.

Add the garlic and ginger and cook for a few more minutes, before mixing in the tomato paste.

Stir in the crushed tomatoes and vegetable broth, and simmer the soup on medium-high heat.

Using a wooden spoon, add the peanut butter by spoonfuls and continuously stir to blend the peanut butter and broth. Once they’ve been thoroughly combined, simmer the soup for another 15 minutes on medium-low heat.

Salt and pepper to taste, and add your preferred amount of sriracha. Garnish with chopped peanuts for an extra crunch 🙂

*stay posted for the upcoming recipes: coffee and walnut cake and corn fritters

Wishing you much love and happy kitchen adventures,
Gen

IMG_1724

Recipe adapted from Soup Addict

This entry was published on May 10, 2013 at 8:51 am. It’s filed under Dinner, Gluten-free, Lunch, Soups, Sugar-free, vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Peanut Soup

  1. The top photo is awesome. I so want to make this soup. I ADORE peanuts and coconut and just about everything else in it. Thank you! Foodgawker are incredibly picky – I often find that just a tiny bit of tweaking and resubmitting can work. They’re especially hot on lighting and white balance in my experience so photoshop can work miracles. I have sometimes submitted photos three or four times before having them accepted… On the upside, as you say, it makes for a valuable learning experience. 🙂

  2. Looking at your top photo again, to make it Foodgawker-friendly you could maybe try cropping it a little at the right (crop about 1/6th of the bowl off) and bringing a little light in from the left? You may also need to adjust the white balance a smidgen (tiny bit too much blue?)…

Leave a Reply

