Life Is Like A Dumpling

Corn Fritters, The End of 3rd Year and Summer Plans

Sorry I’ve been missing in action- I’ve just finished all my exams and my third year of university! Time has gone by so fast, I can’t believe I’m graduating next year. My brain is so fried right now, so I apologize if I’m rambling too much. On Monday I head back to Hong Kong to catch up on some much needed quality time with my family and Chinese food! Then I’m off to backpack around Thailand, Cambodia and Laos for three weeks until I’m back in Hong Kong and then the UK for some down time in July. Plans for July thus far: zero, zip, zilch. Maybe volunteer on a farm somewhere, which will be fun. Olive farm in Croatia? A vegetable farm in Iceland? Who knows!

In the meantime… here’s a one-bowl recipe for vegan and gluten-free corn fritters 🙂

Image

Corn Fritters
2 cups sweet corn
1 cup brown rice flour
1 teaspoon gluten-free flour (oat flour or chickpea flour both work!)
2 scallions, chopped
1 shallot, minced
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1/2 cup water
1 tsp/more of lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
sriracha

Preheat the oven to 220 degrees celsius.

Combine the dry ingredients in a large bowl. Add the water, before stirring in the garlic, shallot, and corn.

Form the mixture into patties and place them on a baking sheet.

Bake for 20 minutes. Flip the patties and bake for another 15-20 minutes until golden brown.

Drizzle with or dip in sriracha 🙂

*stay posted for the upcoming recipes: oatmeal jammies and warm asparagus, broccoli and brown lentil salad

Wishing you much love and happy kitchen adventures,
Gen

ImageRecipe adapted from Healthier Steps

This entry was published on May 19, 2013 at 8:20 am. It’s filed under Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Lunch, Sugar-free, vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

