Life Is Like A Dumpling

Airport Blogging + Oatmeal Jammies

Somehow I have managed to arrive at the airport three hours in advance of a domestic flight, with not much to do except wait until my check-in opens. I don’t believe I’ve ever traveled so efficiently before- I’m keeping my fingers crossed that my luggage isn’t overweight because, as most of my friends and family know, I like to pack everything and as much as possible, even though I’d like to consider myself an efficient packer. I even debated bringing my stand mixer just for the few weeks I’m away! My parent’s kitchen isn’t as well equipped as mine is, and my stay will be filled with many home-cooked meals or meals out- so my blog might be filled with lots of breakfast/dessert/baked goods recipes in the next month or so… You have been warned!

Today’s recipe for vegan oatmeal jammies comes after I discovered I had two jars of jam that I desperately had to use before moving out of my flat. If you ever need to get rid of jam, this is the perfect recipe. It’s a quick recipe, and shaping the cookies is so much fun! I’m such a kid at heart, and I love any recipe that involves shaping cookies or decorating cakes.

Image

Oatmeal Jammies
1/2 cup soy butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 tablespoons sugar
1/4 cup soy/almond milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups oats
1/2 cup spelt flour
1/4 cup plain/all purpose flour
1/2 cup raising
jam (I used apricot jam, strawberry jam, and peanut butter for my fillings)

Preheat the oven to 175 degrees celsius.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream the soy butter and sugars. Add the soy milk and vanilla, and mix until light, fluffy and smooth.

In a separate bowl, combine the dry ingredients. Slowly sift it into the mixing bowl with the wet ingredients and mix until well-blended.

Divide the cookie dough on a baking tray lined with baking paper. Roll the pieces into balls, and press a finger in the dough to make a well for the jam.

Spoon your fillings into the cookie wells, and bake for 10-15 minutes until the cookies are done.

Remove the cookies from the oven, cool, and enjoy with a cup of tea πŸ™‚

*stay posted for the upcoming recipes:Β warm asparagus, feta, and brown lentil saladΒ andΒ raw vegan brownies

Wishing you much love and happy kitchen adventures,
Gen

Image

Recipe adapted from Gayathri’s Cook Spot

This entry was published on May 20, 2013 at 2:18 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

10 thoughts on “Airport Blogging + Oatmeal Jammies

  1. Yum! My husband and I love anything that’s got oats in it. Even though these are primarily ‘jammies’, I love the idea of the peanut butter ones!!! Or… sandwiching together a pb cookie and a strawberry jam cookie. Perfect! Thanks for sharing this recipe. I actually have a jar of abandoned apricot jam in the fridge, so I might give them a go!

  2. Ooh, those look divine, and I could put a whole pot of Bonne Maman apricot jam on them πŸ™‚ I haven’t tried to pack a mixer yet, but the last time I visited my parents I turned up with bags of ingredients to make all sorts during my stay!

    • That is exactly what I used: Bonne Maman jam! I love their jams, I don’t remember the last time I bought jam from another brand or company. I ended up coming to my parents without my mixer or any ingredients, but will probably scout around so I can still make tasty things while I’m here πŸ™‚

      • Most jams sit in our cupboards going green. But Bonne Maman jams are gone in a couple of days. I should set up Bonne Maman Anonymous πŸ˜‰

  3. Delicious! I love oats in cookies, they give it such a lovely texture.

    • I agree. My favourite cookies are definitely the ones with oats in them. Such great texture and, even if the cookie isn’t as healthy as I’d like to think it is, oats make me feel as if I’m making the cookie healthier!

  4. awesome I love oats too and I think it something to do with growing up in Scotland… I love oat cakes and that they are sooooooooo filling…. and chewy πŸ™‚

Leave a comment