Life Is Like A Dumpling

Warm Lentil Salad With Roasted Broccoli, Pan-Fried Asparagus and Feta

The other day my sister told me that her friends thought I had dropped out of university. Why? Because I seem to be posting too often on Twitter, my blog, and Facebook to be productive. So, to clarify things for my lovely readers: no, I am very much still enrolled in university and am nowhere near dropping out or wanting to! I just use my time efficiently so that I can blog AND spend time in the library 😉

Yesterday I was planning on making yoghurt parfaits with brownies, strawberries, and mint, but it was such a rainy day, and by the time I got around to actually making them it was only two hours before dinner. So, I took that on as my project today. With the exception of yoghurt parfaits, finishing Everything Is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer and the entire second season of Girls on HBO, I haven’t done much since coming home. Eating, sleeping, eating, sleeping. I’ve been a hybrid of sloth and couch potato.

Today I’ll be sharing a recipe for warm lentil salad with roasted broccoli, pan-fried asparagus, and feta. It’s quick and easy to make, as well as super healthy and delicious.

ImageWarm Lentil Salad w/ Roasted Broccoli, Pan-Fried Asparagus and Feta
*vegan and dairy-free without feta
*feeds 2 people, or 1 hungry person
2 cups of brown puy lentils, pre-cooked
1 broccoli, chopped
15 thin asparagus spears
1/2 cup feta, crumbled or in cubes
cooking oil (I used garlic rapeseed oil)
salt and pepper to taste

Preheat the oven to 175-200 degrees celsius.

Spread the chopped broccoli on a baking sheet or greased baking tin. Drizzle or coat the broccoli with olive oil and roast for 10-12, until it begins to brown and golden. Be careful not to burn it! Once the broccoli is done, take it out of the oven to cool.

In a medium saucepan, fry up the cooked brown lentils in a tablespoon or so of garlic oil on medium heat. Cook for 10 minutes, before keeping it on low heat and stirring occasionally.

In a separate pan, pan-fry the asparagus spears in garlic oil until tender.

Pour the lentils on the plate, and add the asparagus, broccoli, and feta. Salt and pepper to taste. Enjoy!

I love using garlic oil to cook- it’s so fragrant and everything you make with it tastes absolutely delicious! We get our garlic oil from Supernature, a company that specializes in cold pressed rapeseed oil. They have a stall at the farmer’s market in St Andrews, and we buy a few bottles each time. If you are in Scotland, be sure to check them out at any of these farmer’s markets! Or just visit them at Carrington Barns Farm 🙂

*stay posted for the upcoming recipes: raw vegan brownies and pumpkin bread

Wishing you much love and happy kitchen adventures,
Gen

Image

This entry was published on May 23, 2013 at 4:34 am. It’s filed under Dairy-free, Dinner, Gluten-free, Lunch, vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

