Life Is Like A Dumpling

How To Be A Woman + Pumpkin Bread

It is hot, humid, and steamy where I am. I thought the weather in Scotland was unpredictable, but days in Hong Kong have alternated between wonderful sunshine and complete downpour. Leaving the house also usually requires being struck in traffic for at least 20 minutes. As a result, most of my time has been spent either in bed, on the couch, in the car, or in the gym. Nice, cool, indoor places where I can avoid both sunburn and torrential rain while catching up on my reading list! Gridlock traffic is a waste of time and is horrible for the environment- but on the upside, it’s helping me get closer to accomplishing my 2013 Reading Challenge goal of 30 books. It is only because of gridlock traffic that I’ve managed to finish another book so quickly after my last one: How To Be A Woman by Caitlin Moran. (Yes. Unfortunately, my dear readers, you will have to listen to me gush about another book. If you just want the recipe, feel free to scroll down… 🙂 )

Oh my goodness. Caitlin Moran is hilarious- I spent most of my time laughing, and laughing, and laughing the entire time I read this book. Not only because what she has to say is true, but because, as I’ve previously mentioned, she’s absolutely hilarious. Something that can be a relatively ‘touchy’ topic such as feminism is made lighthearted and easy to take in. I have no issue discussing feminism and am a proud feminist, but for those who struggle to come to terms with the concept and have questions of why we need feminism, Moran’s book is an excellent beginner’s guide to why we need feminism.

She doesn’t talk about stuff that will bore you- she talks about the real issues, and asks important questions: Why do women feel the need to get Brazilian waxes? Why should they? Why are women expected to spend £600 on a designer handbag that’s supposed to be an ‘investment handbag’? Why are women expected to have children, love children, and want to have children?

“What is feminism? Simply the belief that women should be as free as men, however nuts, dim, deluded, badly dressed, fat, receding, lazy and smug they might be. Are you a feminist? Hahaha. Of course you are.”

Her book brings me so much joy.

Anyway… here’s a recipe for pumpkin bread! I know it isn’t the season for pumpkin goodies yet, but after finding a can of pumpkin puree in my kitchen, I felt like making something delicious with it.

I’ll dedicate this post to my friend Maria from Happy Belly, since she told me she wanted the recipe a while ago and I’ve finally gotten around to posting it. She’s a huge foodie, so check out her blog if you have time 🙂

Image

Pumpkin Bread
1 1/4 cup wholewheat or spelt flour
1/2 cup plain or all-purpose flour
1 cup pumpkin puree
6 tablespoons soy butter
1/4 cup soy milk
2 eggs
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
A handful of oats

Preheat the oven to 175 degrees celsius.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the butter on medium speed until smooth. Add the eggs, soy milk, and vanilla. Once thoroughly mixed, add the pumpkin puree and continue to blend.

In a separate bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, sugar, and spices. Sift these ingredients into the pumpkin mixture.

Pour the batter into a loaf tin that is either greased or covered in baking paper. Sprinkle the oats on the batter.

Bake for 45 minutes to an hour, until a toothpick comes out clean.

Enjoy! I recommend toasting a slice and slathering some crunchy peanut butter on 🙂

*stay posted for the upcoming recipes: falafel boats and coconut french toast
Wishing you much love and happy kitchen adventures,
Gen

ImageRecipe adapted from Broma Bakery

This entry was published on May 27, 2013 at 3:12 am. It’s filed under Breakfast, Brunch, Dairy-free, Sugar-free, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “How To Be A Woman + Pumpkin Bread

  1. I read this book last year and was very impressed: I thought it was spot-on. Your pumpkin bread looks delicious…

Leave a Reply

