Life Is Like A Dumpling

Coconut French Toast

After a few cloudy days, Hong Kong is finally bathed in beautiful sunshine today. But, at 31 degrees celsius, the city is also faced with blistering heat! I stepped outside for 15 minutes after lunch only to find myself crawling into the refuge of a bank for 5 minutes of air conditioning, and immediately coming home to make some watermelon popsicles. (They’ll be blogged soon!)

A year ago or so, I went through a French toast craze. I loved it sweet, I loved it savoury, and I even made French toast sandwiches (or toasties) with fried egg, mozzarella, pesto, and hot sauce in the middle. I was just so excited by all the possible variations of French toast- it was the food I craved when drunk, what I wanted for breakfast, it was my comfort food- the list goes on. After a night out, I even invited friends over so my boyfriend and I could make them French toast for munchies. There’s a toastie bar in St Andrews, but I think the lavish French toasties we made seriously rivaled were way better than those from the toastie bar.

This French toast era has dwindled away for me, and I have a sneaking suspicion that both my heart and waistline are thanking me for this. My love for it, however, has far from disappeared- rather, the rare French toast occasion has made it even more special! I normally stick to peanut butter and maple syrup on my French toast, but I decided to try something new the other day: coconut French toast! Made with wholewheat bread and fruit, this can be a wholesome and healthy breakfast 🙂

Image

Coconut French Toast
serves one hungry person
2 slices of wholewheat, rye, or wholegrain bread
2 eggs
soy butter
1/2 can of coconut milk
1 mango, peeled and chopped
1/4 cup blueberries

In a bowl, beat the two eggs.

On the stove, melt some soy butter on a pan on medium heat. Once the pan has heated up, dip the slices of bread into the eggs. Soak the toast thoroughly- you don’t want to cook the bread and just have cooked egg on the sides!

Place the dipped bread on the pan. Flip occasionally, and fry until both sides are golden brown.

When the toast is done, layer the toast with the fruit and coconut milk.

If you would like a sweeter or more indulgent version, you can either mix a little sugar into the coconut milk, or refrigerate your can of coconut milk for 24 hours beforehand to make coconut cream. After the coconut milk has been refrigerated for 24 hours, take the can out of the fridge. Flip it upside down, open it, and scoop out the thick coconut cream that has settled on the bottom (now top) of the can. Whisk a little sugar in, and place dollops of it on your toast.

Enjoy!
Wishing you much love and happy kitchen adventures,
Gen

*stay posted for the upcoming recipes: raw vegan ice-cream bars and mint, strawberry and brownie yoghurt parfaits

Image

This entry was published on May 31, 2013 at 7:39 am. It’s filed under Breakfast, Brunch, Dairy-free, Desserts, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

11 thoughts on “Coconut French Toast

  1. This looks delicious! So true about the sunshine…it looks lovely from my window!

  2. What a great combination – I love French toast. Wonderful photo too…

  3. Serendipitous Wonder on said:

    Congratulations! I’ve nominated you for the Sunshine and Versatile Blogger Award!
    I L-O-V-E your blog. Stay awesome and more power to you!
    Just go this link: https://aprofessionaleavesdropper.wordpress.com/2013/06/01/sunshine-and-versatile-blogger-award/

    • Thank you for the nomination! You are so sweet! I will get to that on my next post. Thank you for reading and following 🙂

      • Serendipitous Wonder on said:

        You’re welcome! You deserve it! The food you make always make me hungry and I love your writing too. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Awards and Acknowledgements (III) « Laura's Mess

  5. Your food photos are amazing. You can share your mouth watering photos with us at foodienewz.com. foodienewz.com is a new food sharing site and we actually try our best to promote your food photos. At foodienewz.com all your food photos will be published without any editorial review so I really hope you come and join us.

  6. Pingback: 14 WAYS TO MAKE FRENCH TOAST | Best Friends For Frosting

Leave a Reply

