Life Is Like A Dumpling

Turning 21 + A Gratitude Salad

This month, I celebrated my 21st birthday. Last week, I invited my friends over for a three-course vegan dinner, and I had so much fun. For me, birthdays have never been the celebration of the day I was born. Every year, I wake up on my birthday filled with gratitude and thanks for everyone and everything in my life. I celebrate my birthday as a pat on the back, a congratulations to having lived another year by embracing both the ups and downs of life’s endless roller coaster ride. Of course, gratitude is something I try to include in my daily routine, so that it isn’t just a feeling I experience once a year. At this point in my life, I realize that I am, more than ever before, practicing what I preach and am being proactive in making sure that I’m really making the most of what life is giving me. I’m becoming better at living honestly by loving myself, loving those around me, and showing my gratitude and thanks to the people in my life. I’m telling people how I really feel, because it’ll avoid unnecessary miscommunication and misunderstanding. I’m more optimistic than ever by making the effort to stay open-minded, looking on the bright side, and realizing that, at the end of the day, all that matters is that I did my best and the things that aren’t life or death really aren’t worth stressing about. My boyfriend’s mom once gave me one of the best pieces of advice I’ve ever received: if someone offends you, don’t be offended. Chances are they didn’t mean to offend you.

I also really want to say a BIG THANK YOU!!!! to anyone and everyone who has been reading this blog. The comments, the views, the questions. It all means so much to me! Words can’t even describe how happy this blog, and the people I’ve met through it, have made me. WordPress has been such a wonderful platform for me to blog on. So I am now sad to announce that this is, in fact, my last post on WordPress because I am in the process of moving everything to a personal domain at http://www.lifeislikeadumpling.com. So if you want to follow me there… I would love you even more! I will post a final post when the site is up and running, and set up an automatic redirect to the new site.

So, in love, happiness, and gratitude, I want to share a recipe for what I’ve named Gratitude Salad.

IMG_8245

Gratitude Salad With A Soy-Tahini Dressing
*serves two
2 cups purple cabbage, chopped
3 cups spinach
1 head of broccoli, chopped
2 tablespoons tahini
1 teaspoon toasted sesame oil
1 tablespoon cold pressed sesame oil
1 1/2 teaspoon soy sauce
a squeeze of lemon juice
a handful of sesame seeds
sesame oil for cooking
sea salt and pepper, to taste
olive oil

IMG_8248
Preheat the oven to 200 degrees celsius. Place the chopped broccoli in a bowl and drizzle with olive oil, salt, and pepper. Transfer the broccoli to a baking tray and roast for 10-12 minutes, until it begins to brown and golden.

Lightly sautée the purple cabbage in a pan on medium heat, so that the cabbage is softened- but still crisp. I have also tried this salad with raw purple cabbage by marinating the cabbage in sesame oil instead of cooking it. The purple cabbage in my photos is slightly overcooked, since it’s started losing its colour. Don’t cook it until it begins to lose its colour! It tastes better when it’s crisp and fresh!

In a large bowl, toss the spinach, broccoli, and purple cabbage together.

Make the dressing by combining the tahini, toasted and cold-pressed sesame oils, soy sauce, and lemon juice. Whisk together, and season with salt and pepper if preferred.

Pour the dressing over the salad, and mix well. Sprinkle with sesame seeds. Enjoy 🙂

Wishing you much love and happy kitchen adventures,
Gen

follow me on facebookinstagram; tumblr; twitterpinterest

This entry was published on September 23, 2013 at 9:16 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

15 thoughts on “Turning 21 + A Gratitude Salad

  1. Gorgeous colours!

  2. Happy birthday! I turn 21 in a month and it truly is about appreciating everything you have this far and looking forward to the years to come. This salad looks delicious as well 🙂

  3. Happy Birthday Genevieve! This was a beautiful post. I’m so glad I discovered your blog through WordPress before you moved 🙂

  4. Married in Marrickville on said:

    Big happy b’day 🙂
    Love the salad, the pictures look amazing,
    Love MIM xx

  5. Yum yum – happy birthday!

  6. your boyfriend’s mom and my mom are very similar:) mom reminds me that i can’t get upset about something someone did, because most likely they didn’t mean to hurt me, they just weren’t thinking about me — and you can’t really get upset about that, can you?

    and happy birthday to you pretty girl!! wish we could blow out a candle together 🙂

Leave a Reply

