Life Is Like A Dumpling

Apple Crumble Oatmeal

I love fall. It is my favourite season, and its arrival means pumpkin and apple goodies, sweater weather, warming soups, Halloween, Thanksgiving, and… maybe I should just let this picture do the talking for me:

I think you get the picture. I greeted the fall season by making stewed apple oatmeal with walnuts a few days ago- there’s nothing like something warm and delicious like oatmeal to cuddle your stomach on chilly mornings! When I set to making my oatmeal this morning, I decided to up the stewed apple oatmeal recipe by making it an apple crumble oatmeal instead of just stewed apple oatmeal. The result was a delicious, heartwarming breakfast that reminded me of one of my favourite fall desserts. 

My boyfriend thinks my oatmeal is the best oatmeal in the world, although he could just be flattering me. He’s usually out of bed at least half an hour before I am, but delays his own breakfast-making so he can enjoy some of my oatmeal (or smoothie!) because he loves it so much (or maybe it’s because he’s lazy). He’s away on a trip to London and Amsterdam right now, so I no longer have a number one oatmeal fan waiting for me on the couch every morning. But, on the bright side, there’s more oatmeal for me!

Apple Crumble Oatmeal
*serves one
1 cup almond milk
1/2 cup organic rolled oats
1 to 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla extract or one scraped vanilla pod
2 tablespoons maple syrup
1 apple
coconut oil
2 teaspoons cinnamon (for cooking the apples)

On medium-high heat, melt the coconut oil and cook the apples. Add cinnamon, and continue to cook while you prepare the oats.

Heat the almond milk on medium-low heat. Add the oats, and stir while cooking until they are softened. Add the ground cinnamon, vanilla, and maple syrup.

Once the crumble topping is done, remove the oatmeal from the heat and place in a bowl.

Crumble/Topping
1/4 cup almonds, chopped
2 tablespoons rolled oats
2 teaspoons maple syrup
1 tablespoon almond milk
1-2 teaspoons cinnamon

Combine the almonds and oats in a pan and toast. Add the maple syrup, almond milk, and cinnamon. Stir in the apples and mix.

Remove from the heat and pour over the oatmeal.

Serve and enjoy 🙂

Wishing you much love and happy kitchen adventures,
Gen

This entry was published on October 8, 2013 at 1:00 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

