Life Is Like A Dumpling

Baked Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

Given that this is my third pumpkin-related post in a row, I think you’re finally beginning to understand the extent of my love for all dishes that spell ‘fall’ or ‘pumpkin.’ My friend Sophie came over for lunch yesterday, and in a discussion of what vegetables we’d be, she said she thought I would make a good pumpkin because I love them so much! I’ve been told by others I would make a good butternut squash- nourishing and heartwarming. (Which is very flattering!)

In celebration of oatmeal day, chocolate day, and Halloween, I’ve decided to share yet another yummy vegan oatmeal recipe with you: baked pumpkin pie oatmeal! I apologize if some of the measurements don’t work out, as I’ve forgotten the exact measurements I used! If the oatmeal is too dry, add a little more milk. If you prefer more spices, add some more. 

 Baked Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal
*serves 3
2 cups oats
1 1/2 cups almond milk
1 cup pumpkin purée
3 tablespoons maple syrup
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon cloves

For the topping:
1 cup walnuts, chopped
3/4 cup dark chocolate, chopped

Preheat the oven to 175 degrees celsius.

In a large bowl, mix the almond milk and pumpkin purée together. Stir in the oats, and add the maple syrup, baking powder, and the rest of the spices. Mix well, and pour into a baking dish. Bake for 30-40 minutes, until the top is golden.

While the oatmeal is baking, chop the walnuts and dark chocolate and set aside.

Once the oatmeal is out of the oven, sprinkle the walnuts and chocolate on the oatmeal.

Enjoy 🙂

Wishing you much love and happy kitchen adventures,
Gen

This entry was published on October 31, 2013 at 10:35 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

