Life Is Like A Dumpling

A Better Pecan Pie… With a secret ingredient!


November 21 and 22 are two very special days for me: today is my 2nd anniversary with Lewis, and tomorrow is one of my dear friend’s Jess’ birthday. In honour of both these events, I had planned on sharing two recipes for dishes that I think are quite sentimental in my relationship with Lewis and my friendship with Jess. Today is Recipe Redux day, though, so these recipes unfortunately will have to wait for another time. I have also unfortunately gotten the theme wrong for this month. The theme this month was “Adding Merriment to Mixes: From hostess gifts to holiday gifts, it’s the season for DIY offerings from your kitchen. And homemade mixes couldn’t be easier! Think about healthy bread, hot cocoa, cookie bars, dressings or even spice mixes. Share the recipe for how you package up a little shelf-stable love from your kitchen!”

It seems like I only read the ‘merriment’, ‘holiday’, and ‘healthy’ part. Oops. It’s okay, there’s still next month! And I still have pie, so all is good.

My love for pecan pie was, coincidentally, actually inspired by Jess’ mom (the great Mrs. Snyder), who made me my first pecan pie. I think I ate half of the pie she made- it was so sinfully delicious, I couldn’t help myself. Although my favourite bourbon pie is still Mrs. Snyder’s and one that involves bourbon (check out my post on bourbon pecan pie here), I received a message from someone I met at a party a few weeks ago requesting a recipe for healthier pecan pie. This pie contains a secret ingredient that I hesitate to tell people about, for fear that they’ll shy away from wanting to try it. I wasn’t too sure about how the pie would turn out when I was making it this morning, but it turned out to be pretty good! Are you ready for the secret ingredient? It’s… tofu!

A Better Pecan Pie
Part 1: Spelt Crust
1/2 cup melted coconut oil or non-dairy butter
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 cup wholegrain spelt flour
1 cup plain flour
2 tablespoons ground flaxseeds
1/2 cup almond milk
1 teaspoon cinnamon
a pinch of salt

Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl, before adding the liquid. Using your hands, mix until the dough forms. Knead and set aside. 

Crust recipe from Oh She Glows

Part 2: Pie Filling
*makes 8 servings
2 cups pecan halves
6-7 oz firm tofu
1/2 cup pure maple syrp
1/4 cup melted coconut oil or non-dairy butter
1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
8 dates, soaked
2 tablespoons arrowroot powder
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
a pinch of salt

Preheat the oven to 175 degrees celsius. 

In a mixing bowl, food process the tofu, maple syrup, coconut oil, and almond milk until smooth. Add the dates, arrowroot powder, vanilla extract, and salt. Pulse again.

Pour the pecans into the pie filling. Stir to blend.

Press the pie crust into your pie tin, and pour the pie filling in.

Bake for 40 minutes, until the top is golden brown.

Enjoy 🙂

Wishing you much love and happy kitchen adventures,
Gen

follow me on facebooktwitterinstagramtumblr; and pinterest  
 

<!-- start InLinkz script -->

<script type="text/javascript">
document.write('<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.inlinkz.com/cs.php?id=332561&' + new Date().getTime() + '"></script>');
</script>

<!-- end InLinkz script -->
This entry was published on November 21, 2013 at 9:31 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

