Life Is Like A Dumpling

Spaghetti Squash With Garlicky Greens and Walnut Sauce

Happy American Thanksgiving! I love Thanksgiving, but the way I feel at Thanksgiving dinners usually goes along the lines of this Buzzfeed article: ‘What It’s Like Being A Vegetarian At Thanksgiving.’ Another great article is ‘Turkey-less on Turkey Day: the Vegetarian’s Thanksgiving Struggle’. The latter probably sums up, quite well, how everyone (especially those complaining about vegetarians who don’t serve turkey at Thanksgiving dinner) should feel today: “Ultimately, it’s a luxury to worry about what you’re eating and where it comes from. Bless the food before us, the friends beside us.” Be thankful for the food on the table, the great company, that you woke up this morning, and if you need a reminder- just look up at the sky. Individually, we are all such a small part of the universe. When I find myself feeling ungrateful or sad, I look up at the great big sky to remind myself of all the wonders on this planet, in this universe, and that I have been blessed with. Happy Thanksgiving, and if you haven’t already told your loved ones you are thankful for them- don’t forget to do so!

In the meantime, let me express my gratitude with a recipe for a big serving of spaghetti squash. This garlic, spinach, cilantro, and walnut sauce has been a favourite of mine since I saw it on Recipris, which I have adapted. I love this recipe, but my boyfriend seems to have a bit of a, shall I say… love-hate relationship with it. 

Spaghetti Squash with Garlicky Greens and Walnut Sauce
Prep time: 10 minutes
Cook time: 45-60 minutes
*serves four
1 medium-large spaghetti squash
3 cups chopped cilantro
4 cups spinach
cups chopped kale
1/2 cup chopped walnuts (I’ve also tried using chestnuts, but it was a bit too sweet)
5 cloves of garlic
rapeseed oil
salt and pepper, to taste

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees celsius. Halve the spaghetti squash. Brush the squash with oil, season with salt and pepper, and roast for 30-45 minutes or until the flesh is soft enough to scoop out.

While the squash is roasting, prepare the sauce. Food process the walnuts, cilantro, spinach, kale, and garlic until fine.

Heat a few tablespoons of rapeseed oil in a pan. On medium heat, sauté the walnuts, cilantro, and spinach until they cook and soften. Cook for another five minutes.

Once the spaghetti squash is done, remove from the oven and scoop out the flesh. Place the strands of squash into the pan with the sauce and mix. Season with salt and pepper.


Serve, eat, and enjoy 🙂

Wishing you much love and happy kitchen adventures,
Gen

follow me on facebooktwitterinstagramtumblr; and pinterest  
 

This entry was published on November 28, 2013 at 4:03 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment