Life Is Like A Dumpling

Holiday Series: Gingerbread Cookies {vegan}

For me, Christmas time has become equated with mulled wine, Love Actually, and bubble baths—bubble baths throughout all of winter, because it’s so cold. Somehow I managed to combine all three the other night: after a particularly exhausting day and a couple of sleepless nights, I decided that some wine, candles, dark chocolate, and watching Love Actually in the tub with a Lush bath bomb was in order. I’m obsessed with making to do lists on a daily basis, and always make it my goal to finish everything that is on the list by the end of the day. Consequently, I often forget that such simple pleasures can be the most gratifying, and that we all need to slow down from time to time to enjoy ourselves. For many, especially people who have children to buy gifts for, gift giving and the holiday season can be very stressful. I don’t have any children, but a few of my co-workers do. I guess most children don’t want to settle for baked goods or spa days, but, as I mentioned in a previous post, I enjoy giving gifts in the form of edibles or experiences, rather than material objects—although I do make an exception for gift cards. Some people think gift cards are lazy and thoughtless, but sometimes getting someone a gift card for something they really, really love can be quite thoughtful. My friend Jess, for example, loves Starbucks. Even though I don’t frequent Starbucks myself, I make it a point to get her a Starbucks gift card every birthday. As for myself, I’d be lying if I said that I wouldn’t enjoy a gift card to a good book store. (Besides kitchen equipment and donations to charity, that is really the only gift I could ever want.)

So, the season of giving… through cookies. For the past few days, I’ve been working away madly in my kitchen baking big batches of cookies as gifts for my friends. I made oatmeal jammies, peanut butter cookies, and my seasonal favourite: gingerbread cookies! When it isn’t the holiday season, I opt for gingersnaps—which aren’t the same, but will satisfy my cravings for a gingery cookie. Even though it still hasn’t snowed, I have converted my kitchen into a huge Christmas cookie workshop by blasting Christmas music during my cookie making.

Make sure you roll out these cookies super thin, because mine are a fair bit thicker than they were supposed to be. They are hard cookies, and it’s difficult to bite when they’re so thick! This recipe is from the awesome Ashlae from Oh Ladycakes. Seriously, tastiest vegan gingerbread cookies I’ve ever made and had.

Gingerbread Cookies
*makes around 30 medium cookies
1/2 cup vegan butter
1/2 cup cane sugar
1/2 cup molasses
1 tablespoon ground flax + 2 tablespoons water
3/4 teaspoon ground ginger
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
2 1/2 cup unbleached flour

In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the butter, sugar, and molasses until creamy. Add the flax and water, spices, salt, and baking soda. Mix again.

Slowly incorporate the flour into the mixture and continue to mix until it is firm enough to roll out.

Preheat the oven to 175 degrees celsius. Line a baking tray with baking paper.

Roll out the dough. Using a cookie cutter of your choice, cut out the dough and transfer onto the lined baking tray. Bake for 6-7 minutes until done.

Serve and enjoy with a glass of (almond) milk 🙂

Wishing you much love and happy kitchen adventures,
Gen

follow me on facebooktwitterinstagramtumblr; and pinterest  

This entry was published on December 17, 2013 at 9:15 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

