Life Is Like A Dumpling

Holiday Series: Holiday Potluck Salad

After what felt like an extremely long journey from Scotland to Hong Kong, I am happy to say that I have arrived at a place where the sun rises and sets at an acceptable time (7am and 5:45pm) and the weather is sunny, pleasant, and comfortable at 17 degrees celsius. My holiday has already been booked and bombarded by holiday dinners, family events, and a wedding- so I will be blogging less for the next month. The Internet at my parent’s also doesn’t work, so I’m hoping to take advantage of this and be as disconnected as possible. I’ll be spending more time with family and friends I haven’t seen in a while, and will be burying my nose into books.

I have a potluck rule: don’t bring something you wouldn’t eat yourself. Most of my enthusiasm for potlucks actually stems from the fact that I can ensure my dinner will include a generous portion of veggies- I fear dinner parties where the only vegetarian friendly dishes are potatoes, pasta, and cheese. This salad is extremely easy to make, and the cranberries and toasted almonds give it a touch of Christmas.

Holiday Potluck Salad
*serves two
4 cups spinach, chopped

1 head of broccoli, chopped
1/2 cup cranberries
1/2 cup toasted sliced almonds
rapeseed oil for cooking
balsamic vinegar + olive oil to dress
sea salt and pepper, to taste
hemp seeds to garnish

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees celsius. Grease a baking tray with rapeseed oil. Season the broccoli with salt and pepper, and roast for 15-20 minutes, until the broccoli is cooked and slightly tender. 

Meanwhile, toast the almonds in the oven or on the stove top until they become golden brown.

Toss the spinach, roast broccoli, cranberries, and almonds into a large mixing bowl. Pour the desired amount of balsamic vinegar and olive oil to dress the salad, and mix well. Sprinkle the hemp seeds on the salad, and serve.

Enjoy 🙂

Merry Christmas and a happy new year to everyone!

Wishing you much love and happy kitchen adventures,
Gen

This entry was published on December 24, 2013 at 8:25 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

