Life Is Like A Dumpling

Grilled Goat Cheese

Growing up, I was seriously bent on making New Year’s resolutions and sticking to them. I’d make a few, madly commit myself to fulfilling them, and ultimately fail because I left myself little or no breathing space. After reading The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin this time last year, I realized that I’m actually much happier and productive when I set little goals or monthly resolutions for myself instead of one big resolution for the entire year. I’ve made a habit of making daily to-do lists, so I feel more accomplished at the end of each day when I see that all the items have been crossed off. (OCD much? Maybe just a little.) My monthly resolutions are not always for myself, but also for others: making the effort to connect with far away friends I haven’t spoken to in ages, becoming a better listener, or even just trying to brighten someone’s day everyday. This year, Lewis and I are doing something different by making resolutions for each other. I think we can all agree that everyone has room for self-improvement, but not everyone realizes what they can be better at or how they can be better as a person. I have yet to think of a resolution for Lewis, but I think it should be a fun project! If you have a good friend or significant other who you think would be up for this, I’d highly recommend doing the same.

Since it’s the end of 2013, I thought I would include a few of my favourite/most interesting/thought provoking articles of the year in this post for everyone to enjoy:

28 Most Iconic Feminist Movements of 2013
The Best of the Internet’s Reaction to Beyoncé’s New Album
Persimmon Crepes (and what it means to be a nice human- one of my favourite blog posts of this year! Really worth reading, well written, and excellently put.)
Michelle Obama Responds to Kanye West’s Recent Comments (SO. GOOD. And extremely funny.)
Giant Burrito to Solve All of Area Man’s Problems For 6 Precious Minutes
He Didn’t Come Here For You (one of the funniest internet pieces I’ve read!)
Dear Guy Who Just Made My Burrito
You Can’t Eat Love 
Yes, Healthful Fast Food Is Possible. But Edible?
Blackfish (a trailer- because this documentary is really good and worth seeing)
From The Mouths of Rapists: The Lyrics of Robin Thicke’s Blurred Lines
Hong Kong Bans Sharkfin Soup and Bluefin Tuna 
WestJet Christmas Miracle (a very touching video I’m sure most of you have already seen!)

There are more links I’d like to share, but these are just a small handful of what I consider to be the (my) Internet highlights of 2013. Definitely give each of them a read if you have time! 

Anyway. Here’s a recipe for a grilled goat cheese sandwich- I love grilled cheese, but since dairy and my digestive system don’t really get along, the best option is often goat cheese of some sort. I whipped these up one evening after a long day at work, was feeling lazy, and had some pears to get rid of. The grilled goat cheese didn’t disappoint: quick, easy, delicious. Dairy-free or vegan? No. But I think it was a good compromise for my tummy.

Grilled Goat Cheese
*serves two
4 slices wholewheat bread (2 slices per sandwich)
4 tablespoons soft goat cheese
2 tablespoons pesto
1 cup spinach, chopped
1 pear, chopped
1/4 cup toasted pecans
apple cider vinegar and olive oil, to taste
sea salt and pepper, to taste

In a bowl, mix the spinach, pears, and pecans. Dress the salad with apple cider vinegar and olive oil. Season with salt and pepper.

Spread the goat cheese on the slices of bread. On top of this layer, spread the pesto. Top a slice with the spinach-pear-pecan salad, and sandwich between the two slices of bread.

If you have a panini grill, place the sandwich in and grill for 3-5 minutes, until the cheese has melted and the sandwich toasted. 

For those without a grill, place a pan on the stove on medium heat. Place the sandwich on the pan, pressing down on the bread with a spatula until the first side is toasted. Flip and toast the other side. You can also place the sandwich in an oven (175 degrees celsius) and toast until the cheese has melted.

Slice in half, serve, and enjoy 🙂

Happy new year!
Wishing you much love and happy kitchen adventures,
Gen

This entry was published on December 30, 2013 at 10:28 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

