Life Is Like A Dumpling

Wholegrain Spelt Chocolate Muffins + The Power of Yoga

Last night I had the most amazing yoga class in my life. I have gone to yoga classes for a few years now, although never consistently enough (only once a week) to really call myself a yogi. If there was anything to convince me that yoga is worth going to three or four times a week, it was last night’s yoga class. At 6:15pm, I was still at home making Life Changing Loaf of Bread, debating whether I should go to the 7pm yoga class. At the last minute, I made a mad dash to the gym, hoping to make it in time. And boy, was I glad I did!

I love yoga because it strengthens your body in a way other sports and exercises don’t. (Some might argue differently.) It requires not only bodily strength, but inner strength- patience to hold a pose, mindfulness to pace your breathing, and gratitude for your body and its ability to persevere, enjoy, and welcome the challenge of yoga. It opens up your mind, body, and soul. 
Lori, the woman who taught last night’s class, focused on opening our Muladhara chakras. She reminded us throughout the class that our bodies were thanking us for doing yoga, and to thank ourselves for allowing our bodies to do yoga. During our poses, she would tell us the stories behind the yoga poses, and what she had learned during her stay at an ashram in India. For some reason, I did not find this distracting, but peaceful. It was while I was holding the chair pose that I came to realize the full potential of both my mind and body- if I focused on breathing, gratitude, mindfulness, I (my body, my mind, perhaps even the soul) could do anything! There is a higher power and energy, and last night’s yoga class was such a humbling, beautiful experience because it showed me how I was connected with everything else within the universe. There is always light and joy to be found: you just need to open yourself and welcome it. Persevere, breathe, and express love and gratitude to the world, those around you, and yourself. I know it sounds silly, but yoga class had, for the first time, been a truly transcendent experience for me. Perhaps I am a little slow to come to this realization and other yogis have long discovered this, but I was (and still am) filled with so much happiness that I had to share it with the rest of the world. Immediately after yoga class, I called my boyfriend to try to convey the joy I felt while doing yoga. Today I woke up blissful and pleasantly sore, energetic, and ready to start the day. I think I deserve some delicious wholegrain spelt chocolate muffins.

These were supposed to be chocolate rye muffins, but since I had no rye in the house this morning, I just went with a mixture of wholegrain spelt and whole wheat flour. These are wonderfully hearty muffins, perfect for the winter cold. This recipe is adapted from Green Kitchen Stories. I made three batches: two batches of muffins, and one chocolate loaf. I toasted a slice of the chocolate loaf for breakfast this morning, topped with almond butter and raw honey. Gorgeous and delicious, as always.

Wholegrain Spelt Chocolate Muffins
*makes around 12-14 large muffins
Dry ingredients
1 cup wholegrain spelt flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
6 tablespoons cacao powder
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon course sea salt
100g dark chocolate, chopped

Wet ingredients
3 eggs
1 cup coconut milk
2/3 cup maple syrup
2/3 cup olive oil

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees celsius, and line a muffin tin with paper cases (or use a silicon muffin mould!). 

In a mixing bowl, combine all the dry ingredients. Meanwhile, in the bowl of a stand mixer, blend the wet ingredients and the chopped dark chocolate.

Once the wet ingredients are thoroughly mixed, slowly sift in the dry ingredients until the batter is smooth. Scrape the bottom and the sides to make sure there are no dry bits of flour. If there are, mix again to incorporate. 

Spoon the batter into the muffin tins, and bake for 18 minutes. Remove them from the oven a little earlier if you want them softer and meltier.

Enjoy (with a glass of almond milk?) 🙂

Wishing you much love and happy kitchen adventures,
Gen

follow me on facebooktwitterinstagramtumblr; and pinterest  

 

This entry was published on January 30, 2014 at 11:56 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

