Life Is Like A Dumpling

Life Changing Loaf of Bread + Rawvocado Spread

I know I said I was leaving WordPress, but since my account still exists and I am planning an eventual return (because I really miss the WordPress platform!) I figured I would still post recipes here that I have posted on my new site. There won’t be a WordPress site for you to click on, but you’ll still be able to read the post on your feed, and you will be redirected to my ‘new’ or ‘main’ site.

Here is my post on Life Changing Loaf of Bread and Rawvocado Spread from a while ago- I’ll be catching up on posts via WordPress! 🙂

—–

IMG_8178

If you’re friends with me, you’ve probably already heard me rave about the Life Changing Loaf of Bread and have also probably tried it (upon my insistence, of course). The first time I had it was truly life changing—I wasn’t expecting any of the flavours or textures that I experienced in my first bite of the ‘bread’ and enjoyed it so much I immediately helped myself to a second slice. Unlike most conventional breads, this loaf is super easy to make and requires no kneading, and is vegan and gluten-free. The best part in the entire process of making the bread is the beautiful, nutty smell that emanates from your oven while it is baking. Did I mention it’s filled with heart healthy and cholesterol lowering fibre?

And yes. It is, once again, a recipe from My New Roots. I can’t help it that everything she posts is so delicious and tasty! Go check out the original recipe on her blog 🙂

It also goes wonderfully with both sweet and savoury toppings. I’ve had it with hummus, peanut butter and jam, and this gorgeous green rawvocado pesto I can’t stop eating and making.

Image

Life Changing Loaf of Bread

*makes one loaf
1 cup sunflower seeds
1/2 cup ground flax seeds
1/2 cup hazelnuts
1 1/2 cups rolled oats
2 tablespoons chia seeds
4 tablespoons psyllium seed husks, or 3 tablespoons psyllium husk powder
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 tablespoon maple syrup
3 tablespoons coconut oil
1 1/2 cups warm water

Soak the sunflower seeds and hazelnuts at least two hours before you begin preparing the bread. Once the seeds have been soaked, combine all the sunflower seeds and hazelnuts with the other dry ingredients in a silicon loaf pan.

Heat up 1 1/2cups water. Add the maple syrup and coconut oil, and stir until the coconut oil has melted into the water.

Pour the water, maple syrup, and coconut oil mixture over the ingredients in the loaf pan. Mix evenly, especially around the bottom, to ensure that all the dry ingredients have been coated and soaked with the liquid. Smooth out the top of the loaf, and let the loaf sit for two hours. Since I soak my nuts beforehand, this usually takes only 30 minutes to an hour. The loaf is ready when it retains its shape when you pull the sides of the silicon loaf tin away from it. (If you are using a metal tin, make sure you line it with baking paper!)

Preheat the oven to 175 degrees celsius. Once the oven is hot enough, bake the loaf for 20 minutes.

Once it has baked for 20 minutes, remove the loaf from the loaf pan. Flip it upside down and bake another 40 minutes. The bread is finished when it sounds hollow when tapped.

While the bread is baking, make a dip, spread, or salad to go with it,

Let it cool completely before slicing- this is crucial! Do not be impatient and cut it open while it is still hot!

Once cooled, enjoy with spread or dip.

Image

Rawvocado Pesto
*makes 3/4 cup to 1 cup of pesto
2 cups greens (spinach, kale, collard greens)
1 avocado
1/4 cup olive oil
3 garlic cloves
a handful of pine nuts or walnuts
sea salt, to taste

Image

Food process the greens, olive oil, garlic, and nuts. Add the avocado to round out the flavour and texture.

Spread onto a slice of life changing loaf of bread, and enjoy 🙂

Image

And now, I’m off to a vegetarian breakfast for dinner potluck!

Wishing you much love and happy kitchen adventures,
Gen

  follow me on facebooktwitterinstagramtumblr; and pinterest

This entry was published on November 7, 2013 at 10:28 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Life Changing Loaf of Bread + Rawvocado Spread

  1. Welcome back even if only briefly. Have missed your postings here 🙂

  2. Definitely going to try both recipes!

Leave a comment