Life Is Like A Dumpling

Self-Lovin’ Peach Cobbler

Happy belated World Vegetarian Day! I hope everyone celebrated by eating compassionately and gave all their veggie friends a hug. I didn’t do anything exciting to celebrate, although I did make a delicious raw vegan peach cobbler for breakfast this morning. That’s right: I had dessert for breakfast. This peach cobbler is my final send-off to summer as peaches, nectarines, and other summer delights begin to go out of season. I have a love affair with peaches and am sad to see them go for the rest of the year, but I have no doubt that I will be feasting on them again once they return next summer.

The first time I had this cobbler was at the My New Root’s vegan picnic potluck in the park this summer. I met a wonderful group of plant-based foodies at the potluck, and one of them, Alycia (from Alycia Bee Nutrition), brought this cobbler along. My first bite was heavenly- of course, when I asked her for the recipe, she confessed that it was a My New Roots creation.

I know many people have an uneasy relationship with dessert and its buddies: the white sugar, white flour, and other processed yuckies that are bad for both the heart and the waistline. But fear not! This cobbler has nothing nasty in it, and is a quick, easy, and fruit-based dessert that is sure to satisfy your dessert (or breakfast!) cravings. That is why I’ve decided to call it a self-lovin’ peach cobbler: because you deserve a guilt-free dessert. It’s so wonderful that you’ll love yourself even more for having it. For all the nutritional info, hop over to Sarah B’s peachy keen raw cobbler post on My New Roots!

Self-Lovin’ Peach Cobbler
Part 1: The Filling
8 juicy, ripe peaches
juice of half a lemon
4 soft pitted dates, soaked for 10 minutes
1 vanilla bean or 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
cinnamon, to taste

Cut and peel the peaches, and set five of them aside in the serving dish. 

Food process the other three peaches with the lemon juice, dates, vanilla, and cinnamon. Pour the mixture over the chopped peaches in the serving dish.


Part 2: The Topping

2 cups nuts
1 cup soft pitted dates
cinnamon
a pinch of sea salt

Food process all the ingredients. Crumble the topping over the chopped peach mixture in the dish. Serve and enjoy 🙂

Wishing you much love and happy kitchen adventures,
Gen

This entry was published on October 2, 2013 at 4:16 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment