Life Is Like A Dumpling

French toast with caramelized bananas and peanut butter

It has been almost a month since I have written an entry! I’ve been swamped, to say the least- it’s been a busy month filled with finishing another essay, beginning to study for my exams, and attempting to be social by going to birthdays, on coffee dates, etc. My boyfriend’s been sick in bed with a horrible virus, and I’m still working on finishing my VERY LAST ESSAY of the semester! Just this essay and one more final to go, then it’s holiday time. I’m excited to do some intense catching up with my bed.

Today I’ll be sharing with you a favourite of mine… French toast with caramelized bananas and peanut butter! It’s simple, but oh-so warm and comforting on cold mornings, and excellent brain food in dire, stressful, essay-filled conditions.

French toast with caramelized bananas and peanut butter
1 slice of bread (I prefer wholewheat)
1 egg
1 banana
a spoonful of (soy) butter
Peanut butter to spread

Crack an egg into a bowl, whisk with a fork. Dip your bread in the egg and make sure it is thoroughly soaked. On medium heat, melt the butter in a pan. Once sizzling (but not hot enough to burn), place the egg-soaked bread in the pan. Let it cook until the bottom side is golden- then flip! Meanwhile, slice up some banana and, in another pan with melted butter, pan fry the bananas until soft and slightly browned. (One of my favourite smells in the world!)

Spread peanut butter on your finished French toast, and garnish with the caramelized bananas. If you’re feeling indulgent, top with caramel sauce and whipped cream.

This entry was published on December 8, 2012 at 8:05 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “French toast with caramelized bananas and peanut butter

  1. Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your articles?

    I mean, what you say is fundamental and everything. But just imagine if you added some great visuals or video clips to give
    your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics
    and videos, this website could definitely be one of the best in its field.

    Wonderful blog!

Leave a comment