Life Is Like A Dumpling

Versatile Blogger and Sunshine Award + Raw Vegan Ice-Cream Bars!

Today will be my last post for two weeks, as I’m off on a backpacking adventure around Thailand, Cambodia, and Laos tomorrow! I’m sad to be away from my blog for a while, but it’s only two weeks, and I’m so excited to share my trip (especially the food photos) with everyone when I’m back. Before I get on to a recipe for raw vegan ice-cream bars, I’d like to thank the very sweet Julie from A Professional Eavesdropper for nominating my blog for the Sunshine and Versatile Blogger Award! If you have time, please check out her blog and these blogs I am now nominating- they are all great blogs that I enjoy reading so much 🙂

ImageImage

I would like to nominate:
Spending Sundays
Married in Marrickville
The Healthy Epicurean
La Petite Gourmande Anglaise
Brickipedia
Allegra In Italia
Laura’s Mess
Celiac and Allergy Adventures

The Rules:
Post the logo above.
Accept the nomination and link back to the blog that nominated you.
Share seven things about yourself.
Nominate blogs and inform them of the nomination.

So, seven facts about me. Hm…
1. I strongly believe that feminism is extremely important and necessary.
2. My two sisters look alike, but I don’t particularly look like them. Sometimes I wonder if I’m adopted… just kidding!
3. I love Beyoncé. She’s the queen king of my heart.
4. Guilty pleasure: I love singing Taylor Swift songs and dancing to them in the kitchen.
5. I love to read.
6. My favourite movie is the super cheesy Ever After, which features Drew Barrymore faking a British accent.
7. Salted caramel is one of my favourite flavours of all time.

Thank you again for nominating me! 😀

Now, how about some raw vegan ice-cream bars? These are the perfect treat to cool you off on a hot summer day. This recipe is based off the one for the raw cashew dreamcake, and is super easy and delicious!

Image

Raw vegan ice-cream bars
Crust:

1/2 cup raw almonds
1/2 cup soft pitted dates
1/4 teaspoon salt

Filling:
1 1/2 cups raw cashews, soaked overnight
juice of 2 lemons
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
1/3 cup coconut oil, melted
1/3 cup liquid honey/agave nectar/maple syrup
1 cup of cocoa powder, give or take

Soak the dates in hot water for 10 minutes, or until they soften.

Food process the almonds, dates, and salt until the ingredients are well mixed and hold together. Line a 7 inch round pan with saran wrap (it’ll be easier to take out of the tin later, i promise!) and press the crust mixture in.

Melt and blend the coconut oil and honey in a small saucepan on low heat.

Food process the cashews, lemon juice, vanilla extract, coconut oil, and honey/agave/maple syrup until smooth. Add the cocoa powder and blend again. If you would like to sweeten it a bit more, add more honey/agave/maple syrup. If you would like it to be more chocolatey, add more cocoa powder.

Pour the mixture onto the crust and freeze for a few hours, or overnight. Remove from the freezer 30 minutes before serving to thaw. For extra decadence, pour hot chocolate ganache over the frozen bars- the chocolate should immediately freeze, leaving you with delicious raw vegan ice cream bars coated with chocolate!

Enjoy!
Wishing you much love and happy kitchen adventures,
Gen

*stay posted for: mint, stawberry, and brownie yoghurt parfaits and watermelon popsicles

Image

This entry was published on June 2, 2013 at 3:20 am. It’s filed under Dairy-free, Desserts, Gluten-free, Sugar-free, vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

7 thoughts on “Versatile Blogger and Sunshine Award + Raw Vegan Ice-Cream Bars!

  1. That’s so kind of you, thank you. Enjoy your trip!

  2. Thank you so much! Your ice-cream bars look TDF. Enjoy your trip – it sounds adventurous!

  3. Married in Marrickville on said:

    Thank you so much for nominating MIM for the Versatile Blogger Award – You ROCK!
    Hope you have a great time & look forward to reading your adventures when your back 🙂
    Love MIM

  4. I am so happy to be amongst the amazing group of bloggers above… most of whom I’ve been privileged enough to ‘meet’ already! Thanks for the nomination, and congrats to you for your nomination also! Loved reading your answers to the questions. Haha… Taylor Swift in the kitchen! Sometimes I dance in the kitchen also but it’s usually to Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs 😉 Have a fantastic trip lovely! Thanks again!

  5. Thank you very much! I hope you enjoy your adventure. I look forward to seeing the (food) photos when you get back!

  6. Pingback: Kimchi Quinoa + My New Roots Picnic Potluck | Life Is Like A Dumpling

  7. Pingback: Kimchi Quinoa + My New Roots Picnic Potluck | gratitude and greens

Leave a comment