Life Is Like A Dumpling

Polenta with cannellini beans, caramelized onions, and blushed cherry tomatoes

My first week of the second semester has been a busy one so far. I’ve been rushing to and from classes, attempting to switch in and switch out, attending society meetings, and trying to balance my extracurriculars. One of my projects this semester is an outreach program, which involves teaching a class of young children about an international issue. This morning I was up at the crack of dawn, trying to shower, eat breakfast, and make sure I wasn’t late to my first one! When I was finished with the class at 11am, I had originally planned to sit myself in the library and do some proper work. But nope. My kitchen called to me, and I found myself making polenta instead of reading about irregular warfare and insurgencies. (Just in case you’re curious: I study international relations.)

Image
Polenta with cannellini beans, caramelized onions, and blushed cherry tomatoes
1/2 can of cannellini beans
1/2 yellow onion, diced
1 cup cherry tomatoes
1/2 cup polenta
1 cup grated Parmesan
1/2 cup grated Gruyere
2 cups water
olive oil
sea salt and black pepper
arugula
thyme

Preheat the oven to 220 degrees celsius. Rinse the cherry tomatoes, and place in a baking tin. Coat the tomatoes with a generous amount of olive oil, and roast until soft. While the tomatoes are roasting, caramelize the onions in a frying pan, and add the beans. Sprinkle some thyme, and cook until golden brown.

Pour 2 cups of water into a small-medium pot, and add the polenta. Cook on a medium high heat until it simmers, and then place it on low heat. Stir often to prevent burning and the solidification of the polenta. Grate the cheese into the polenta, and add thyme, sea salt, and pepper.

Scoop the polenta into bowls, and garnish with the onions, beans, tomatoes, and arugula. Grate some cheese, and enjoy! This dish is perfect for warming you up on a cold winter day 🙂

lifeIMG_1022

Inspired by The Year in Food

This entry was published on January 31, 2013 at 1:37 pm. It’s filed under Brunch, Dinner, Gluten-free, Lunch, Sugar-free, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

